Time in Yerevan: 11:07:36,   15 December

‘Long live La Francophonie’ – outgoing Secretary General says

YEREVAN, OCTOBER 12, ARMENPRESS. Outgoing Secretary General of La Francophonie Michaelle Jean says La Francophonie is very close to her, and serving the organization is a great honor.

“The meetings with the people of different countries and the work with the NGOs creating values were so pleasant,” she said today at the Yerevan summit after Rwanda’s FM Louise Mushikiwabo was elected the new Secretary General.

“Obstacles happened very often, but we understood how to overcome them,” she said.

“We were able to advance the things that our predecessors have carried out. Thank you for the trust, and long live La Francophonie,” Jean said.


The new Secretary General of La Francophonie Louise Mushikiwabo, Rwanda’s foreign minister, says it is a great honor to assume office.

Delivering remarks after being named the new Secretary General, she mentioned that she is taking office with pleasure.

“It is a great honor for me to be elected to this office,” she said.

“I am convinced that this family has great potential. It is no coincidence that I nominated my candidacy. I want to serve the people even more. This is a challenge that I will try to overcome. This is a job that I won’t be doing alone,” she said.

“On behalf of the general secretariat, I would like to announce that we will serve member states. As Secretary General, I will attach importance to spreading the French language,” the Rwandan FM said.

Rwanda’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Lousie Mushikiwabo has been elected Secretary General of La Francophonie during the XVII Summit of the organization in Yerevan, PM Nikol Pashinyan announced during the closing ceremony of the summit.

She was elected to a 4-year term.

Pashinyan praised Michaelle Jean, the former Secretary General, for her successful leadership and efforts.

Yerevan is hosting the XVII International Organisation of La Francophonie summit in 2018.

Armenia is a member of the organization since 2008.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie represents one of the biggest linguistic zones in the world. Its members share more than just a common language. They also share the humanist values promoted by the French language. The French language and its humanist values represent the two cornerstones on which the International Organisation of La Francophonie is based.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie was created in 1970. Its mission is to embody the active solidarity between its 84 member states and governments (58 members and 26 observers), which together represent over one-third of the United Nations’ member states and account for a population of over 900 million people, including 274 million French speakers.

IOF organizes political activities and actions of multilateral cooperation that benefit French-speaking populations. Its actions respect cultural and linguistic diversity and serve to promote the French language, peace and sustainable development.

IOF has concluded 33 cooperation agreements with international and regional organisations and has established permanent dialogue between the major international linguistic zones (the English, Portuguese, Spanish, and Arab-speaking zones).

The IOF has its head office in Paris as well as four permanent representations in Addis Ababa (at the African Union and at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa), in Brussels (at the European Union), in New York and in Geneva (at the UN). It has three regional offices (West Africa ; Central Africa and Indian Ocean ; Asia-Pacific) located respectively in Lomé (Togo), Libreville (Gabon) and Hanoi (Vietnam) and two regional antennas in Bucharest (Romania) and in Port-au-Prince (Haiti).

Alongside the IOF, the Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie and the four direct operators are responsible for implementing the programs decided at the Summits. The four direct operators are : the Academic Agency of La Francophonie, TV5Monde, the International Association of Francophone Mayors and The Senghor University of Alexandria.

61 Member States and Governments :
Albania, Principality of Andorra, Armenia, Kingdom of Belgium, French Community of Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canada-New-Brunswick, Canada-Quebec, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Niger, New-Caledonia, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Säo Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Vietnam, UAE, Kosovo, Serbia.

29 Observers :
Argentina, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada-Ontario, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, Ukraine,Uruguay, Gambia, Ireland, Louisiana (USA), Malta.

Edited and translated by Stepan Kocharyan



Related News

... last news on "Francophonie"
Latest News

All news    

About agency

Address: Armenia, 22 Saryan Street, Yerevan, 0002, Armenpress
Tel.: +374 11 539818
E-mail: [email protected]
Page Configuration