Time in Yerevan: 11:07:36,   23 January

UAE businessmen interested in making investments in Armenia

YEREVAN, OCTOBER 8, ARMENPRESS. Businessmen of the UAE are interested in making investments in Armenia. The trade turnover between the two countries rose 10-fols, from 25 million to 250 million USD, during the last 5 years, Minister of State of the UAE Zaki Nusseibeh told the reporters after the ministerial conference in the sidelines of the 17th Francophonie summit.

“5-6 years ago one of my friend visited Armenia for the first time and when he returned he told me amazed “We have discovered Switzerland right next to us”. Instead of searching appropriate sphere for investments in Europe, we will do it here. In Armenia”, the Minister of State of the UAE said.

“Recently, we marked the 20th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations with Armenia. Trade turnover between the two countries rose from 25 million USD to 250 million during five years. There are direct flights from Armenia to the UAE, so we see that there is huge potential for strengthening relations”, Zaki Nusseibeh said.

The UAE has been an observer-member of the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie since 2010. According to the Minister of State, they hope to become a full member soon.

“For us French langu8age is very important since it’s the language of dialogue of different cultures. Some people call the French language as the language of peace dialogue”, he said.

Minister of State of the UAE Zaki Nusseibeh also expressed deep sorrow over the demise of world famous French-Armenian chansonnier Charles Aznavour.

Armenia will assume OIF’s Presidency from October 2018 until 2020.

Yerevan is hosting the XVII International Organisation of La Francophonie summit in 2018.

The events will take place October 7-12, with the summit scheduled for the final two days.  

Armenia is a member of the organization since 2008.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie represents one of the biggest linguistic zones in the world. Its members share more than just a common language. They also share the humanist values promoted by the French language. The French language and its humanist values represent the two cornerstones on which the International Organisation of La Francophonie is based.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie was created in 1970. Its mission is to embody the active solidarity between its 84 member states and governments (58 members and 26 observers), which together represent over one-third of the United Nations’ member states and account for a population of over 900 million people, including 274 million French speakers.

IOF organizes political activities and actions of multilateral cooperation that benefit French-speaking populations. Its actions respect cultural and linguistic diversity and serve to promote the French language, peace and sustainable development.

IOF has concluded 33 cooperation agreements with international and regional organisations and has established permanent dialogue between the major international linguistic zones (the English, Portuguese, Spanish, and Arab-speaking zones).

The IOF has its head office in Paris as well as four permanent representations in Addis Ababa (at the African Union and at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa), in Brussels (at the European Union), in New York and in Geneva (at the UN). It has three regional offices (West Africa ; Central Africa and Indian Ocean ; Asia-Pacific) located respectively in Lomé (Togo), Libreville (Gabon) and Hanoi (Vietnam) and two regional antennas in Bucharest (Romania) and in Port-au-Prince (Haiti).

Alongside the IOF, the Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie and the four direct operators are responsible for implementing the programs decided at the Summits. The four direct operators are : the Academic Agency of La Francophonie, TV5Monde, the International Association of Francophone Mayors and The Senghor University of Alexandria.

58 Member States and Governments :
Albania, Principality of Andorra, Armenia, Kingdom of Belgium, French Community of Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canada-New-Brunswick, Canada-Quebec, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Niger, New-Caledonia, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Säo Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

26 Observers :
Argentina, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada-Ontario, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay.

Armenia will assume OIF’s Presidency from October 2018 until 2020.

Edited and translated by Tigran Sirekanyan


Related News

... last news on "Francophonie"
Latest News

All news    

About agency

Address: Armenia, 22 Saryan Street, Yerevan, 0002, Armenpress
Tel.: +374 11 539818
E-mail: [email protected]
Page Configuration