Time in Yerevan: 11:07:36,   24 March

Writers' Union of Armenia has new president

YEREVAN, OCTOBER 21, ARMENPRESS: The members of the Writers’ Union of Armenia elected new president on October 20. Edward Militonyan, Hovik Hoveyan and David Sargsyan preliminarily put their candidacies for the position. Armenpress reports that at the WUA session the four candidates presented their program provisions.
Writers’ Union of Armenia has 520 members. In accordance with the WUA charter, 263 members should be present to provide for the quorum, though the session was attended by 325 people. The members from the remote communities as well came to Yerevan to take part in the elections.
The absolute majority of the votes entitled to assume the office of the president went to the Acting President of the Writers’ Union of Armenia Edward Militonyan. Hovik Hoveyan got 100 votes and Romik Sardaryan got 4 votes. David Sargsyan was given 24 votes. 7 ballots were recognized invalid.
The Writers’ Union of Armenia was established in August 1943. The position of the president was vacant after the WUA President Levon Ananyan passed away in Yerevan at the age of 67 on September 2.

Latest News

All news    

About agency

Address: Armenia, 22 Saryan Street, Yerevan, 0002, Armenpress
Tel.: +374 11 539818
E-mail: [email protected]
Page Configuration